CASANZ is an association of members who have a professional interest in Air Quality.

The Clean Air Society of Australia and New Zealand is a non-profit, professional association that has been active for over 50 years, currently with a membership base of over 600 members.  Our members represent a broad range of sectors including national, state and local governments, science, business, industry, education, management and policy, legal and the general community.

Our primary objective is to ensure that our members and other stakeholders are well informed about air quality problems and solutions. We promote professional excellence, continuous awareness of national and world issues and the facilitation of air quality related courses, workshops, webinars and seminars, facilitated by local and world recognised presenters.

CASANZ encourages you to become a member and enjoy the benefits provided, including regular regional technical meetings, the quarterly journal Air Quality and Climate Change, monthly newsletters, bi-annual conferences and updates on the latest developments relevant to air quality and the changing needs of our environment.

Executive Committee

The CASANZ Executive Committee is elected every two years by members with voting rights. The Executive Committee is comprised of the President, Deputy President Secretary and Treasurer.

The Executive is responsible for managing the day to day affairs and the governance of the Society. They consult with the Council on the Society’s goals and directions, the Strategic Plan and the purposes of CASANZ.

Janet Petersen

Society President
+64 21 167 9506

Jason Choi

Society Deputy President
VIC/TAS Branch Secretary

+61 438 366 800

Francine Manansala

Society Secretary
NSW/ACT President


+61 413 662 646

Doug Boddy

Doug Boddy (Dr)

Society Treasurer
NZ Branch Treasurer

Certified Air Quality Professional

+64 21 766 576

Vicki Callaway

General Manager
+61 3 9723 6588

Council Committee

The affairs of the Society are managed by the Council, which is the governing body of the Society.

MemberSociety Position
Janet PetersenSociety President/Executive Committee
Jason ChoiSociety Deputy President/Executive Committee
Ms Francine ManansalaSociety Secretary/Executive Committee
Dr Doug BoddySociety Treasurer/Executive Committee
Dr Mark HibberdImmediate Past Society President
Francine ManansalaNSW/ACT Branch President
Ronan KellaghanNSW/ACT Branch Secretary
Dr Paul TorreVIC/TAS Branch President
Jason ChoiVIC/TAS Branch Secretary
Dr David WainwrightQLD Branch President
Jenny SimpsonNZ Branch President
Jeff BluettNZ Branch Secretary
Dr Matthew PicketSA/NT Branch President
Jon HarperWA Branch President
Jacinda ShenTraining Co-ordinator
Travis AnceletEditor Clean Air Journal

Training Committee

The Training Committee oversees the provision of air quality related training courses throughout Australia and New Zealand. Comprised of a Deputy Chair and a representative from each Branch Committee, it supports and advises the Training Coordinator in the provision of courses across the Society’s branches.

2017/2018 TAE

Training Coordinator: Jacinda Shen
Deputy Chair: Andrew Martin
NSW Representative: Justine Firth
NZ Representative: Brent Kennedy
QLD Representative: John Taylor
VIC/TAS Representative: Paul Torre
WA Representative: James Forrest